Change made in 2013: The Indiana State Fair has had to make some changes due to the accidents over the past few years on the fairgrounds. There has been a change in the minimum age requirement. The State Fair Queen is now considered an employee of the Indiana State Fair Commission for liability reasons. Indiana also has strict regulations regarding child labor and teen work hour restrictions for those under the age of 18. Those under 18 are limited to a certain number of work hours per week. Based on the number of hours the ISF Queen works while traveling in June and July and the 17-day Indiana State Fair, she easily averages more than 40 hours per week. This means the State Fair Queen must be 18-years-old when they begin touring in June the following year after their crowning. For Johnson County in order for our queen to participate in the State Contest, they must be 17-years-old by June 1 of the current year. We will no longer be able to accept 16-year-olds in our contest. I hope you understand why we had to make this change and I will be happy to answer any further questions you have. Feel free to contact me with questions. Thank you! We have many other exciting changes to come and look forward to getting to know all the new 2014 Contestants!

Valli Shattuck, Fair Board Director

2014 Application (PDF)

All Applications and Sponsor Fees must be turned into the Johnson County Extension Office
no later than 4:30 pm on Friday, May 30, 2014

2013 Fair Queen Bailey Johnson

2013 Queen and her court

2013 Fair Queen Bailey Johnson, First Runner Up Hannah Duke, Second Runner Up Kayla Bechman, Third Runner Up Ashley Sebree, Fourth Runner Up Callie Johnson and Miss Congeniality Maryellen O’Connor